The Carroll News excels in SPJ and ONMA awards

Megan Grantham, Campus Editor

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

Carroll News editors were honored at the Society of Professional Journalists: Mark Of Excellence and Ohio News Media Association awards.

The Society of Professional Journalists annually presents the Mark of Excellence Awards to honor the best student journalists, with categories in print, radio, television and online collegiate journalism.

The SPJ Mark of Excellence regional judges also selected Kyle Kelly for 1st place finalist in the Sports Column Writing category in the Region 4 Mark of Excellence Awards.

Editor-in-chief Olivia Shackleton was honored as a finalist in the General News Reporting (Small) 1-9,999 Students category in this year’s Region 4 Mark of Excellence Awards.

The Ohio News Media Association also annually presents awards for collegiate journalism.

Op/Ed Editor Mariella van der Sluijs was honored with 1st place in the opinion writing category, and Managing editor Kathleen Mackey was awarded 2nd place in opinion writing.